Parks and Recreation Department Home

Petaluma water ways - WATERTRAIL

Petaluma Marina

 

Thirteen miles upstream of San Pablo Bay, Petaluma is the northern point on the network of recognized access points known as the San Francisco Bay Water Trail.

 

Most boaters approach the city via the Petaluma River and its downstream marshlands, arriving first at Shollenberger Park, where the Shollenberger Overlook (Project #34), is one of several existing "landmarks," including the Petaluma Marina (boat ramp and bathrooms, hotel, restaurants), the River Heritage Center (#16), and the downtown Turning Basin (#9), lined with docks and open-air dining.

 

Petaluma Water Ways is the link among these features, connecting Petaluma by water to downstream and the Bay.

 

Small craft users will encounter a number of scenic highlights along the Petaluma River from abundant migratory bird life in the open marsh downstream, to urban culture in downtown's Historic District, and several points connecting the Water Trail with foot and bicycle trails along the riverfront. Explorers will be able to experience all the attractions of Petaluma, and get there by water, too.


 

 

 

Contact Information

Administrative Offices
320 N McDowell Blvd
Petaluma, CA 94954
Phone: 707.778.4380
Fax: 707.656.4057
Email: parksnrec@ci.petaluma.ca.us
Hours: 8:00am - 5:00pm
Monday - Friday



General Information:
Parks and Rec Front Office: 707.778.4380
Senior Center: 707.778.4399
Field Scheduling: 707.778.4519
Aquatics: 707.778.4410
Marina: 707.778.4489



Secretaries:
Allison Cresci
707.778.4386
acresci@ci.petaluma.ca.us

 

Makayla Gouveia
707.778.4412
mgouveia@ci.petaluma.ca.us

 

Recreation Coordinators:
Sandra Kraus (Senior Center, Special Events)
707.778.4349
skraus@ci.petaluma.ca.us

 

Jeremy Parker (Sports, Aquatics, Fields)
707.778.4519
jparker@ci.petaluma.ca.us

 

Amy Rich (Youth Programs, Camps, Contract Classes)
707.778.4336
arich@ci.petaluma.ca.us

 

Recreation Supervisor:
Drew Halter
707.778.4488
dhalter@ci.petaluma.ca.us